Shadow of the Jungle

Here we are again. I opened my eyes as soon as the first ray of light touches my bare skin. It’s just a beginning of any other day, and usually I like to scratch my itchy skins to brush of all the potential bacterias that might latched on me. You might see me as a weirdo because of my physique. The next thing I do in this new life is to bathe and make myself a cup of black coffee.

Now you can imagine how mediocre my life is after years of treatment. By the way, this has been four months since I entered this community. Digital native humans as we know it, work to make a living in a concrete jungle. So do I. This is one of my most favorite thing to do in the morning, I like it when I drive fast. Being inside a fast moving car, got everything else slowed down.

It’s 8.55 and I am 5 miniutes behind my usual schedule and today is the day when I should be feeling awesome. I graduated from one of the most well known university and took the path of a psychologist. Not much of a work. Those 4 years of being a so so student got me the privilege to be accepted as a “under supervision counselor”.

A few days ago, I screamed to my friend who dragged me to join this office. I said to him, “YO I GOT THE CHANCE TO BE THE COUNSELOR! FINALLY I COULD USE MY SKILLS!”.

Calmly he said that I need to calm down and stay grounded. Well in fact, a few months ago he did warned me to have a strong “WHY” towards my goal, and to stay detached from it all at the same damn time. I did not bother his words at first.

“I mean, come on! This is my job as a counselor! A dream came true! The very first legal opportunity!”, I said to myself.

It took me a few hours to make a plan. Let me share a bit the ways of counseling with you. Opening convos which shall be the best time to get to know your client and build enough rapport. Then you continue with exploring client’s understanding and later use it for your own understanding. Next one is the intervention stage which will be the moment………………………..

(Sorry, I got too excited)

Anyways, I will then start with a normal introduction. Then later, I will follow up with my most favorite question:

“What’s wrong?”

I will ask this question so that I know what’s going on in her life and know her mindframe about what’s wrong in life. I mean..

Yoo why would you even go to a counselor if you don’t have anything wrong in life. This is why I love doing this. I love it because I got to prove the society wrong that a person like me could be a use for them as well. Look at me now, I am here because of the pack I am hanging out with. I will be a counselor because I worked for this. I will be helping her despite of my past.

I heard that my clients are twins who are having a tough life. Their grandparents expected them to be this and that. Long story really fucking short, one of them end up being suicidal and the other is in a positive toxic state. Let me explain to you what I have reasoned from her profile.

Jenni is a product designer which graduated from a local university. While her twin sis named Jenna graduated from RMIT and is now a fashion designer. In the past they haven’t gotten a long very well. Because they always have different hobbies. Okay enough about them. In short, a few weeks ago Jenna attempted suicide and wrote on her blog about her suicide attempt.

Now..

Do you remember why I was so excited this morning?

I don’t.

They cancelled the meeting.

As I tried to calm myself down by taking a deep breath, I clenched my fist upon the hot cup of coffee that I made. Too hard, my hand shakes and I spilled some of the dark bitter liquid on my dashboard.

Oh relax.. I am a counselor right. I should have been able to control my emotion right. It’s alright as long as I feel alright, right?

Little did I know. The sky is dark all over again. The moon was red. The next thing I know, I was covered in my all white three piece suit. My suit’s white, and as white as my suit is I got aroused by the flowing liquid I saw. Like a heavy cream, but it’s red and flows from on top of the head, down to the nose.

Then I sat in front of them in a rather dark room to admit that I have been detached from my goal. Only to ask:

“What’s wrong with you two?”

Leave a comment